Skip to Main content Skip to Navigation
Journal articles

Longitudinal study assessing the return of chloroquine susceptibility of Plasmodium falciparum in isolates from travellers returning from West and Central Africa, 2000–2011

Dima El Safadi Amandine Cian Céline Nourrisson Bruno Pereira Christelle Morelle Patrick Bastien Anne-Pauline Bellanger 1, 2 Françoise Botterel Ermanno Candolfi Guillaume Desoubeaux Laurence Lachaud Florent Morio Christelle Pomares Meja Rabodonirina Ivan Wawrzyniak Frédéric Delbac Nausicaa Gantois Gabriela Certad Laurence Delhaes Philippe Poirier Eric Viscogliosi Myriam Gharbi Jennifer Flegg Véronique Hubert Eric Kendjo Jessica Metcalf Lionel Bertaux Philippe Guérin Jacques Le Bras Ahmed Aboubaca Patrice Agnamey Adela Angoulvant Patricia Barbut Didier Basset Ghania Belkadi Anne Pauline Bellanger Dieudonné Bemba Françoise Benoit-Vica Antoine Berry Marie-Laure Bigel Julie Bonhomme Olivier Bouchaud Marie-Elisabeth Bougnoux Patrice Bourée Nathalie Bourgeois Catherine Branger Laurent Bret Bernadette Buret Enrique Casalino Sylviane Chevrier Frédérique Conquere de Monbrison Bernadette Cuisenier Martin Danis Marie-Laure Darde Ludovic de Gentile Jean-Marie Delarbre Pascal Delaunay Anne Delaval Michel Develoux Jean Dunand Rémy Durand Odile Eloy Nathalie Fauchet Bernard Faugere Alber Faye Odile Fenneteau Pierre Flori Madeleine Fontrouge Chantal Garabedian Françoise Gayandrieu Nadine Godineau Pascal Houzé Sandrine Houzé Jean-Pierre Hurst Houria Ichou Agathe Lebuisson Magalie Lefevre Anne-Sophie Leguern Gwenaë Le Moal Daniel Lusina Marie-Claude Machouart Denis Malvy Sophie Matheron Danièle Maubon Denis Mechali Bruno Megarbane Guillaume Menard Laurence Millon Muriel Mimoun Aiach Philippe Minodier Gilles Nevez Philippe Parola Daniel Parzy Olivier Patey Pierre Patoz Pascale Penn Alice Perignon Stéphane Picot Jean-Etienne Pilo Isabelle Poilane Denis Pons Marie Poupart Bruno Pradines Didier Raffenot Christophe Rapp Marie-Catherine Receveur Claudine Sarfati Yaye Senghor Fabrice Simon Jean-Yves Siriez Nicolas Taudon Marc Thellier Maxime Thouvenin Dominique Toubas 
Abstract : Chloroquine (CQ) was the main malaria therapy worldwide from the 1940s until the 1990s. Following the emergence of CQ-resistant Plasmodium falciparum, most African countries discontinued the use of CQ, and now promote artemisinin-based combination therapy as the first-line treatment. This change was generally initiated during the last decade in West and Central Africa. The aim of this study is to describe the changes in CQ susceptibility in this African region, using travellers returning from this region as a sentinel system.
Document type :
Journal articles
Complete list of metadata
Contributor : Laurence Millon Connect in order to contact the contributor
Submitted on : Monday, January 17, 2022 - 10:57:02 AM
Last modification on : Tuesday, March 15, 2022 - 3:58:02 PM

Links full text



Dima El Safadi, Amandine Cian, Céline Nourrisson, Bruno Pereira, Christelle Morelle, et al.. Longitudinal study assessing the return of chloroquine susceptibility of Plasmodium falciparum in isolates from travellers returning from West and Central Africa, 2000–2011. Malaria Journal, BioMed Central, 2013, 12 (1), pp.35. ⟨10.1186/1475-2875-12-35⟩. ⟨hal-03528300⟩



Record views